General Settings tab

Use the General settings tab to configure core project options, including workflows, approval requirements, visibility, and job associations. Changes are saved automatically unless otherwise specified.

To learn how to customize general settings of a P4 Code Review project, watch this video or review the instructions following the video.

Configure general settings

In the General settings tab, you can configure the following:

  • Name - Update the name for the project.

  • Description - (Optional) Add a short description to explain the purpose of the project.

Workflow

Select a Workflow to control review rules at the project level. Choose from one of the following:

  • Inherit from project (branch-level use).

  • Select a workflow.

  • No workflow (default for new projects).

Project-workflow Behavior

  • If a workflow is set at project level, it applies to all branches by default.

  • Branches can override the project workflow.

  • If the project is set to No workflow, global workflow rules are used.

  • Only workflows you own or shared workflows are available.

  • If workflows are disabled, this option is not available.

To learn more, see Workflow overview.

Minimum up votes

Set the minimum number of up votes required to approve reviews at the project level.

How it works

A review cannot be approved until:

  • All required reviewers have voted up.

  • The Minimum up votes requirement is satisfied.

Set minimum up votes

Required reviewers are included in the vote count.

In Minimum up votes, either enter a number directly or use the arrow controls to increase or decrease the value.

  • Click the green tick to save.

  • Click the cross to discard changes.

Behavior across projects and branches

If a review is associated with multiple projects or branches:

  • All minimum vote requirements must be met.

  • The review cannot be approved until all conditions are satisfied.

  • If a branch sets Minimum up votes to 1 or higher, it overrides the project value.

  • If the branch is set to Inherit from project, the branch uses the project value.

Vote counting and workflows

Vote counting may be affected by workflow rules:

  • If Count votes up from is set to Members, only member votes are counted.

  • If workflows are disabled, all votes are counted.

  • If the Minimum up votes value is higher than the number of available reviewers, the review cannot be approved.

For more information, see Workflow rules.

Job filter

To specify a Job filter to associate jobs with the project, use field=value pairs. For example:

Subsystem=ProjectA

The job filter:

  • Associates matching jobs with project changelists and reviews.

  • Supports * wildcard matching.

  • Does not support advanced query syntax or free text.

Project visibility

By default, a project is a standard project. However, you can choose to make a project:

  • A Private project

  • An Open project

Private projects

Enable Private project to restrict who can view the project and its activity in P4 Code Review.

When enabled, the project and its reviews are only visible to:

  • Project owners

  • Moderators

  • Members

  • Users with super privileges in P4 Server.

Private projects are identified with an icon indicating limited visibility.

To learn more about private projects, see Private projects.

Open projects

Enable Open project to allow wider participation in reviews while still enforcing project-specific workflows, tests, and checklists.

When enabled, open projects:

  • Allow reviews associated only with this project, or with other open projects, to be approved by any authenticated user.

  • Allow checklist status updates on open-only reviews by any authenticated user.

  • Can be used with an empty members list.

If a review is associated with both an open project and a standard project, the standard project's approval restrictions apply.

To learn more, seeOpen projects.

Delete a project

To delete a project:

  • Click Delete Project.

  • Confirm the deletion.

After deletion P4 Code Review attempts to clean up project data. To learn more, see Delete a project.