Workflow fundamentals

Japanese version

A workflow is used to define the life cycle of a task. In contrast to pipelines, a workflow is applied to a single task, as opposed to spawning a sequence of tasks. Workflows are mainly used for task sign off, user story testing, art sign off or quality iterations.

Setting a workflow on a task automatically progresses the workflow to the first workflow state. Going to the next status can be done manually, or can be triggered by changing the item status of the underlying item. Double-clicking the Status column will display a list of valid Item statuses, and workflow states, to which the item can progress.

Building a workflow

You build a workflow by inserting statuses and transitions shown here on the toolbar when editing.

Workflow status settings

See Workflow status settings.

Exporting and importing workflows

Under the More menu you can export and import your workflows as XML. This is useful when transferring workflows between projects or databases.

Workflow access rights

Users or user groups can be allowed to alter a workflow beyond the defined restrictions, giving them permission to edit the full item. This capability is set through the option Edit workflow access rights in the More menu.

Using workflows for testing user stories

You can use workflows for testing completed tasks and user stories without delegating parts of the project or backlog.

This is useful when you want a group of testers to test user stories in the backlog without being able to change any property of the user story itself.