Creating and managing users

Japanese version

In order to allow others to log into Hansoft you must first add them as users. Adding users can be automated using the LDAP integration.

Users are managed by Hansoft Administrators and the list of users can be found under Admin > Users.

The User list

The user list shows all users in the current database. In addition, deleted users who had their allocations and tasks retained will also be displayed.

Creating a user

Create a user by clicking the Create new user button on the toolbar. Fill in the name and password for the user. It is also possible to set a "Sorting name" for a user account. This allows the user to be sorted after the sorting name instead of the display name. When you create a user you also create an account on the project server where your user can log on. In this account the user will find all their work planned in the To do list.

Tip 1: Name your user with his/her full personal name, for example John Smith.

Tip 2: We recommend you read this article about different Roles if this is the first time you configure Hansoft.

Select the user you have just created and edit the User Profile:

Log on to the Project Server (Default: Checked)

Uncheck to temporarily and quickly disable the user from being able to log in to the Hansoft server. Note that the user will still consume a license seat also if you uncheck this option.

Administration Access (Default: Unchecked)

Makes the user a Hansoft Administrator with full access to the Admin section of Hansoft.

This option is unavailable for QA users.

Portfolio Allocations Access (Default: Unchecked)

Gives the user the possibility to use the Portfolio allocations feature.

This option is unavailable for QA users.

Documents Access (Default: Checked)

The user use the Documents feature.

Dashboards Access (Default: Checked)

The user can use the Dashboards feature.

This option is unavailable for QA users.

Can Share Dashboard Pages (Default: Checked)

The user can share Dashboards.

This option is unavailable for QA users.

Deleting a user

When deleting a user, a choice can be made to retain assignments and task history. Otherwise, the user will be permanently deleted, with no option to restore them.

When you permanently delete a user, all references in the projects where they have planned tasks will be removed, as well as their account on the project server. This operation cannot be undone, so be careful. Additionally, be mindful of any repercussions related to the SDK, or to any integrations that might be affected.

Undeleting a user

If you mistakenly delete a user, but choose to keep the assignments and history the user can be undeleted by selecting the user and going to the 'More' menu and clicking 'Undelete users'.

Editing a user

You can edit the properties of a user by clicking the Edit user button on the toolbar. When you change the name of the user, all references to this user in the project planning will also be updated.

Adding a user to a group

There are two ways to add users to a group: Either by right-clicking the user and selecting the groups via the "Member of User groups" menu (where you can also create a new group), or by using the "Edit user" dialog.

Show/hide users

Show QA users

Check to make QA users visible when managing users in the "Admin" tab.

Show deleted users

Check to make deleted users visible when managing users in the "Admin" tab. Users that have been permanently deleted can not be shown.

Convert ghost users

See Ghost user mode.

QA accounts

SeeQA user accounts.