Installing the Hansoft client

Hansoft client does not require administration rights to run. The client does require write access to the user's home directory.

Client deployment

There are four ways in which the Hansoft client can be deployed to users:

The most common deployment method is a standard installation (#1). In this situation the Hansoft client on the user's machine will automatically upgrade or downgrade to match the version of the server the client is connecting to. Hansoft is capable of connecting to servers running different versions from a single client installation.

A network installation (#2) can be used in situations where you want to have one common installation for all users. The Hansoft client fully supports running from a shared folder - the automatic upgrade and downgrade mechanism fully handles this situation. If the shared network location is read only for users Hansoft will download any alternate versions required to a user local directory to allow the user to connect to servers running versions other than the version of the client installed on the network share.

The Hansoft client works well in VMs such as Parallels and VMWare (#3). Ensure that the VM is setup to meet the system requirements of the Hansoft client (see System requirements in the Hansoft user manual).

Hansoft also works over services such as Terminal Services, although performance will not be ideal.

Document management local storage

The default location of the local storage for document management is as follows:

Operating system Location
Windows The folder "My Documents\Hansoft" in the user's home directory.
Mac The folder "Documents/Hansoft" in the user's home directory.
Linux The folder "Documents/Hansoft" in the user's home directory.

When users are going to be offline and unable to contact the server and still want to be able to read documents they can copy the documents to the local storage. Users can also check documents out before going offline to be able to edit them while offline.

Hansoft will never delete files that are in the document management system from the local storage so it might grow large with time. It is safe to delete these files as long as none of them are checked out. Check from the user's client if it has any files are checked out before deleting this folder.