Configure P4V preferences

To configure settings for P4V:

  1. Go to Edit > Preferences​ (Windows) or P4V > Preferences​ (Mac).

  2. Use the Filter preferences field to quickly locate preference pages or settings.

  3. Click Apply to save your changes or click OK to save your changes and exit the dialog box.

Local versus centralized preferences

Local versus centralized preferences: Many P4V preferences can be defined or disabled centrally using P4 Server. For example, an administrator can disable the Labels tab centrally, and you cannot override this setting in your local P4V preferences to make the Labels tab available. These centralized settings are specific to P4 Server, so if you switch your connection to a different P4 Server instance during a P4V session, you might see different behaviors after you open the new connection. For example, if P4 Server A has enabled the Labels tab and P4 Server B has disabled it, the Labels tab will become unavailable when you switch your connection from instance A to instance B.

Performance-related preferences

Preferences related to performance, such as those on the Server Data page, can be set centrally using P4 Server. If these centrally set performance preferences differ from your local preferences, your local settings continue to appear in the Preferences dialog box even though the central preferences override their values.

Find preference settings

If you are unsure which preference page contains a setting, use the Filter preferences field at the top of the preferences page list.

  1. Open the Preferences dialog.

  2. In Filter preferences, type a word or phrase related to the setting you want to find.

  3. Select one of the matching preference pages from the filtered list.

  4. Review the highlighted settings on the page.

While a filter is active:

  • Only preference pages that contain matching settings are displayed.

  • Matching settings on a page are highlighted to help you locate them.

  • Parent categories remain visible when they contain matching pages and automatically expand to reveal those pages.

  • To remove the filter and display all preference pages, clear the Filter preferences field.

If no preference pages match your search term, the message No matching preferences is displayed.

If your filter matches settings on the Shortcuts preference page, opening that page automatically applies the same search term to the shortcut list. To learn more about filtering keyboard shortcuts, see Shortcuts preferences.