Work with streams on a P4 Server
P4 One provides limited support for streams: you can switch a connected workspace to a different stream, and integrate changes between streams. To learn more about streams, see Terminology.
Switch streams
When your workspace is connected to a stream depot, P4 One shows your current stream. You can switch your workspace to a different stream at any time.
-
Select your stream information in P4 One to open the streams page.
The active stream shows You are here.
-
Select Switch on the stream you want to switch to.
After you switch streams, if your workspace is not up to date with the stream, P4 One opens a Sync window. Select Sync to download the latest files.
Integrate changes between streams
P4 One follows the standard P4 pattern for integrating changes between streams: merge down changes from a more stable stream, then copy up the merged state to that stream.
Merge down changes
Merge changes to bring changes from a more stable stream into your current stream. The green arrow between stream nodes represents the changes available to merge.
-
On the streams page, select the green arrow between the two stream nodes.
P4 One previews the changelists that the merge integrates into the stream.
-
Select Merge.
P4 One integrates the changes and automatically resolves the files that only one stream edited. If a conflict cannot be automatically resolved, P4 One prompts you to resolve it.
A merge opens the integrated changes in your default pending changelist. P4 One prompts you with a submit dialog so that you can submit the merge to the server.
Copy up changes
After you merge changes into a stream, copy the integrated state up to the more stable stream.
-
Switch to the more stable stream.
When the stream is up to date with your merged changes, the outgoing line to the child stream turns gray.
-
Select the blue arrow leading from the child stream to your current stream.
P4 One previews the changelists that the copy integrates into the stream.
-
Select Copy.
P4 One integrates and automatically resolves the changes. No conflicts are expected, because you resolved them during the merge.